By |13 Sep 2023 at 12:22 AM
ignatz awards 2023

Ignatz Awards 2023: The Ignatz Awards 2023 honored outstanding independent comics, recognizing the industry’s diverse talent and inventiveness. Among the noteworthy victors were Wash Day Diaries and Death Bloom.

Ignatz Awards 2023

In 2023, the Ignatz Awards honored the finest independent and small press comics. These awards have been presented for the past 26 years, and they recognize excellence in the realm of comics. In-person and via livestream, the victors were announced at the Small Press Expo.

One of the noteworthy winners was “Wash Day Diaries,” which claimed the category for Outstanding Story. It is a graphic novel that celebrates the beauty, fortitude, and relationships of Black women, including their hair. Another award-winning story, “Death Bloom,” is about Niloufar and her deceased lover, Shadi, and how gardening helps her manage with her grief. These awards emphasize the creativity and diversity of the comics industry, bestowing recognition on talented artists and storytellers.

Overall, the 2023 Ignatz Awards recognized remarkable comics across various categories, from anthologies to online comics. It is a significant event for comic book fans and a venue for artists to exhibit their distinctive and significant work to a wider audience.

50th Telluride Film Festival: Unveiling the Lineup Amidst Challenges

List of Ignatz Award: Winners

  • The winning story was “Ride Or Die” from Wash Day Diaries by Jamila Rowser and Robyn Smith (Chronicle Books).
  • Winner of the Outstanding Minicomic Award: Sacred Grove by Celine Loup (Self-Published).
  • Boodle Fight, by Ashley Topacio (Self-Published), was the winner of the Outstanding Collection award.
  • Winner: Shades Of Fear, edited by Allison O’Toole and Ashanti Fortson (Balustrade Press).
  • Winner: Tales Of Old Snake Creek, Drew Lerman (Self-Published), Outstanding Series.
  • Winner: Adversary by Blue Delliquanti Promising New Talent: In Limbo by Deb JJ Lee (First Second).
  • Honorable Mention: Platonic Love, A ee mi (Paradise Systems).
  • Mimosa by Archie Bongiovanni (Abrams Comic Arts) is the winner of the award for Outstanding Graphic Novel.
  • Winner: Darlin’ And Her Other Names by Olivia Stephens (Self-Published) for Outstanding Artist.

These are the 2023 Ignatz Award winners in the numerous categories.

Ignatz Honors

The Ignatz Awards are special prizes presented to creators of incredibly interesting comics and illustrations. These accolades are not for the large, well-known comic books found in stores. Instead, they commemorate the creative work of small groups or individuals who make their own comics, and occasionally they also recognize comics made by larger companies but still owned by the creators.

These awards are named after the humorous cartoon character Ignatz, who used to hurl bricks in the Krazy Kat comic strip. Since 1997, these awards have been presented annually at the Small Press Expo, with the exception of one year when the event was canceled due to the September 11 attacks.

Attendees of the Small Press Expo who are fans of comic books and are eligible to vote for these awards. There is also a group of specialists who select the finest comics to be nominated. These awards cast a light on the talented individuals who create comics that may not be as well-known but are nonetheless extremely cool.

Ignatz Awards Background

The Ignatz Awards have a fascinating past! Since 1997, they have been presented annually at a unique event known as the Small Press Expo (except in 2001, when it was canceled due to the tragic September 11 attacks). These awards were established to recognize comics and drawings created by individuals or small groups. It differs from the most prestigious comic book awards, such as the Eisner Awards, in that it concentrates on comics created by a single author and illustrator.

The origin of the name “Ignatz” is a humorous comic strip character named Ignatz who loved to throw bricks. The honors were inspired by an event known as OrlandoCon, but they are no longer associated with it. Chris Oarr and cartoonist Ed Brubaker came up with the concept for these awards because they wished to recognize lesser-known but still incredibly interesting comics.

The Ignatz Awards have expanded over the years to include categories such as “Outstanding Artist” and “Outstanding Graphic Novel” to recognize various aspects of the comics industry. These awards help cast a spotlight on the creative and talented folks who create comics that might not be on the big store shelves but are loved by many comic fans.