By |05 Oct 2022 at 9:15 PM
Amazon Quiz

Amazon Quiz: Former Kerala health minister KK Shailaja has declined which award recently?

Ramon Magsaysay award

Nansen Refugee Award

Diana Award

Real Heroes Award

Answer: Ramon Magsaysay award

KK Shailaja declined to accept the Ramon Magsaysay Award because the late president of the Philippines was reputed to have been brutal to communists.

Ms. Shailaja, a CPI(M) member of the Central Committee, made the choice after discussing it with the party’s national leadership.

Sitaram Yechury, the general secretary of the CPI(M), said that Ramon Magsaysay, who is known for allegedly brutally oppressing Communists in the Philippines, is the person on whom the award is named.

Left-wing political figures in India who addressed the matter asserted that Magsaysay was a fervent opponent of communism who oversaw the defeat of communists (Hukbalahap, a guerrilla movement founded by Central Luzon’s farmers) in the Philippines in the 1950s.

The Ramon Magsaysay Awards were created in 1957 by the Rockefeller Brothers Fund (RBF) in memory of the late Philippine President, who died in an aircraft disaster in March of that year.