Related Posts

Super Bowl Overtime 2024: Know The Rules For 2024

Super Bowl Overtime 2024 will feature the Kansas City Chiefs and San Francisco 49ers due to a modification to the overtime rule.

- Advertisement -

Super Bowl Overtime 2024: The Super Bowl matchup for this year will involve the Kansas City Chiefs and the San Francisco 49ers, as a result of a modification to the overtime rule.

Winner-take-all games are incredibly suspenseful over time, and they become more memorable as the stakes rise.

- Advertisement -

Given how closely matched the Kansas City Chiefs and the San Francisco 49ers are heading into Super Bowl LVIII, it is highly probable that the game will proceed to overtime on Sunday.

There have only been twelve overtime games since 2010, and none of those games have followed the OT rules that went into effect before the 2022 season.

2024 NFL Super Bowl overtime regulations

Before the 2022 season began, the NFL altered the overtime regulations for this year’s postseason, which included the Super Bowl LVII matchup between the 49ers and Chiefs.

Chiefs’ overtime win over the Bills in the 2022 AFC divisional playoffs was the main reason for the adjustment.

  • The proprietors decided to modify the regulations during this offseason. For postseason contests, such as Super Bowl LVII, overtime operates as follows:
  • There will be a three-minute break after the scheduled game, and then fifteen more minutes of play will follow.
  • In the extra period, both teams must have a minimum of one opportunity to possess the ball. When the team initiating overtime scores a safety on the receiving team’s first possession, however, this requirement does not apply; the team that kicked off prevails.
  • After each team has possessed the ball, the team with the most points wins.
  • After each team has had possession and neither has equalized the score, the team that scores by any means after that will win.
  • Unless the second team completes its initial possession, the teams will engage in another overtime.Β  Irrespective of the number of overtime periods required to ascertain a champion, the game will proceed.
  • A two-minute intermission shall occur between every overtime period. After the second period, a half-time intermission will not occur.
  • Unless that decision is deferred, the captain of the losing team will make that decision.
  • Every team is allotted three timeouts per half.
  • As soon as the second or fourth overtime period concludes, the same overtime regulations apply as usual.
  • The officials will conduct another coin toss if they cannot determine a winner after a fourth overtime period.

Super Bowl MVPs: A Look at the Most Valuable Players in Super Bowl History

The opposing team will possess the ball, regardless of whether the team receiving the inaugural kickoff scores a touchdown.

A defensive touchdown or safety, however, results in the conclusion of the contest. Therefore, should Team A score a touchdown on their initial extra possession, Team B remains in contention for a tie. The subsequent score determines the winner if there is a tie after one ball possession by each team.

Popular Articles